Metaphors

A picture is worth a thousand words. Using metaphors, communication becomes more efficient. That’s why we like to use metaphors in the Clean Coding Cosmos. The most important ones are explained here in more detail.


CosmosMethapher

Cosmologists consider the biggest possible picture of our world: the universe. This holistic approach we like to follow as well. Which factors do play a role within the world of software development, how do they interact and how can we apply them to our benefit???
Of course, a galaxy is only a tiny part of our physical world, but the biggest one to which the most of us do have an imaginable relationship. In addition, it looks pretty beautiful. That’s why we have chosen this image to represent the cosmos.


SeSchmutzFazit_Kuh

The cow as ruminant with a really big stomach consisting of four compartment is a symbol for continuous intensive digestion. Because that is needed also in IT, we have chosen the cow as our mascot. Each progress – both in product and process – has to be reflected repeatedly whether the previous changes have been really beneficial. Possibly, some improvement is important to be done. Possibly, some dirt has been introduced into the system. Possily, the progress turns out to be a regress. Possibly, an excretion of pollutants must take place. Thus, a continuous improvement cyle (plan-act-improve or plan-do-check-act) is necessary. That’s what we mean by digestion.


Clean-Dirt-Methapher

Cleanness is an attribute that virtually all of us perceive as something good. Nobody appreciates dirt (even the lazy ones who do not want to avoid it actively). But so what? Imagine, you would not clean up after cooking. Next time you start cooking you would be slowed down because you have to search for tools or you have to remove caked leftovers or something else. The mess would increase the less cleaning up is done. The same is true virually everyvery: cleanness means efficiency, dirt means hindrance. Cosmologically speaking, dirt bends space and makes us go a long way around.


StaatsMethopher_en

Do we live in a self-determined way or are we directed by others? A good answer is: Both! A liberal democratic state lets us obey to a number of rules, but simultaneouly garantees us a certain degree for individual fulfillment. The same is true for IT projects. There must be a project frame to which all players have to obey, but that still allows some degree of freedom for creativity and personel responsibility. Therefore, the state metaphor is very useful to illustrate the Team Clean Coding (TCC). Unfortunately, we associate a state also with annoying bureaucracy. However, the instructions recommended by TCC are supposed to be lightweight and integrate in the working life in a natural manner.


RunderTischMetapher

At a round table all persons sit in an equal position. Therefore it represents a symbol for equality of persons concerning rights and duties. That’s why we have chosen it as template for the TCC logo.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Metaphern

Ein Bild sagt mehr als tausend Worte. Kommunikation wird damit effizienter. Darum nutzen wir gerne Methapern im Clean Coding Cosmos. Die bedeutungsvollsten sind hier etwas näher erläutert.


CosmosMethapher

Kosmologen betrachten das größtmögliche Bild unserer Welt: das Universum. Diesen ganzheitlichen Ansatz möchten wir auch verfolgen. Welche wesentlichen Faktoren gibt es in der Welt der Softwareentwicklung, wie spielen sie zusammen und wie können wir sie uns nutzbar machen???
Natürlich ist eine einzelne Galaxy nur ein winziger Teil unserer physikalischen Welt, aber der größte Teil, zu dem die meisten von uns noch eine vorstellbare Beziehung haben. Weil dieses Bild außerdem so schön aussieht, haben wir es als Symbol des Kosmos ausgesucht.


SeSchmutzFazit_Kuh

Die Kuh als Wiederkäuer mit einem sehr großen Magen, der aus vier Kammern besteht, ist ein Sinnbild für intensive kontinuierliche Verdauung. Weil das auch die IT braucht, ist die Kuh unser Maskottchen geworden. Jeder Fortschritt – sei es im Produkt oder im Prozess – muss regelmäßig überprüft werden, ob die letzten Änderungen wirklich positiv waren und ob noch etwas verbessert werden sollte. Möglicherweise brachte eine Änderung Schmutz ins System. Vielleicht soviel, dass es eher ein Rück- statt ein Fortschritt war. Eventuell ist die Ausscheidung von Schadstoffen nötig. Das heisst, ein andauernder Verbesserungsprozess (Plan-Act-Improve oder Plan-Do-Check-Act) ist notwendig. Das ist es, was wir mit Verdauung meinen.


Clean-Dirt-Methapher

Sauberkeit ist etwas, das eigentlich jeder von uns positiv erlebt. Schmutz will keiner haben (auch die Faulen nicht, die ihn billigend in Kauf nehmen). Aber was bedeutet das? Würde man beim oder nach dem Kochen nicht Aufräumen sorgen, gäbe es beim nächsten Mal kochen Probleme. Vor lauter Unordnung würde man Werkzeuge nicht finden oder festgetrockenete Reste mühsam entfernen oder vieles mehr. Kurz: die Effizienz würde leiden, und zwar je mehr desto weniger man sauber macht. Gleiches gilt eigentlich überall: Sauberkeit bedeutet Effizienz, Schmutz bedeutet Behinderung. Im Sinn der Kosmologie bedeutet Schmutz unnötig verbogener Raum, der uns längere Wege aufzwingt.


StaatsMethopher

Leben wir fremd- oder selbstbestimmt? Eine gute Antwort lautet: Beides! Ein freiheitlich demokratischer Staat zwingt uns Regeln auf, aber gewährleistet uns gleichzeitig Möglichkeiten, uns individuell zu entfalten. Gleiches sollte für IT-Projekte gelten. Es muss einen Entwicklungskontext geben, in dem sich die Akteure einfinden müssen, der aber noch Raum läßt, kreativ und verantwortsbewußt zu arbeiten. Aus diesem Grund ist die Staatsmetapher sehr gut geeignet, um das Team Clean Coding (TCC) zu veranschaulichen. Leider verbinden wir mit einem Staat auch lästige Bürokratie. Die Maßnahmen des TCC aber sollen leichtgewichtig eingesetzt werden und fügen sich dann organisch in den Alltag ein.


RunderTischMetapher

An einem runden Tisch sitzen alle in einer gleichen Position. Deshalb stellt er ein Sinnbild für Gleichheit von Personen bezüglich Rechten und Pflichten dar. Und deshalb war er unsere Vorlage für das TCC-Logo.


Verfassen Sie einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

*